About Cirencester Open Air Pool

COASP Logo 400px
Cirencester Open Air Pool is a charity incorporated organisation. We rely entirely on the generous support of volunteers, donors and sponsors to maintain and develop the facilities.

Below is information on how we have made improvements in recent years to the facilities and some reflections on the history of the pool. Click on the titles to read them

Pool Upgrades

The story so far

Cirencester Open Air Swimming Pool (COASP) provides Cirencester residents and visitors with an outdoor swimming experience in a unique setting, where they can enjoy swimming in heated natural spring water, relaxing on our patio area and enjoying refreshments in a beautiful location on the edge of Cirencester Park. The Pool is open for 15 weeks every summer. COASP is a registered charity and has been managed by a volunteer committee since May 1973, when Cirencester Town Council was unable to continue its involvement and it was proposed that the Pool was closed. The intervention of the local community saved our much-loved Pool from closure at a time when many outdoor pools in the UK were being shut down.

Our historic site, built in 1869, has left a need for mechanical and structural improvements. Thanks to major funding from the The Winstone Charitable Trust, COASP embarked upon a visionary upgrade project of the pool site in 2016 for the benefit the town, visitors and residents of Cirencester.

The improvements

  • Our old office and storage building was demolished and a new main building constructed, providing new changing rooms with disabled facilities, new toilets and showers, a meeting/function room and new office. The plant room, new chemical stores and workshop were also included in the new building. This major cost was covered by The Winstone Charitable Trust.
  • New pool covers were installed – helping to reduce costs in heating the pool – and new fencing alongside Riverside Walk built, incorporating the storage of pool covers. Half of this cost was provided by St. James’s Place.
  • Improved wheelchair access to the rear gate with new ramp and handrail – cost provided by Gloucestershire Environmental Trust (G.E.T.)
  • An extra entrance and exit with turnstile built to help mange the flow of visitors on busy days, arriving and leaving the pool site.
  • New patio to Riverside Walk side of pool laid.
  • A designated reception area and desk were built - cost provided by the Gannett Foundation
  • Fixings and connections are in place to enable us to install solar panels in future (cost covered by G.E.T.)

We are very grateful to the following grant funders:

The Winstone Charitable Trust
St. James’s Place
Gloucestershire Environmental Trust
Gannett Foundation

What's Next?

The aim for future improvements includes:

  • Purchase of photovoltaic (solar) panels and installation to assist with our considerable heating costs.
  • New patio to remainder of pool site, in the style of the recent upgrade to Riverside Walk area.
  • Demolition of old changing rooms to rear of the site and development of this area.

 COASP aims to fundraise further to achieve these improvements.

History of Cirencester Open Air Pool

A Brief History of Past Times at The Baths - Barbara Chamberlain

A Brief History of Past Times at The Baths

‘Beckwith is coming’ ran the teaser in the Wiltshire and Gloucestershire Standard of 8 August 1874, heralding an announcement the following week that the services of Professor Beckwith and his self-styled ‘Beckwith frogs’ family would perform their wonderful feats of ornamental swimming, diving, floating &c in Cirencester Swimming Baths.

Whilst it might seem odd to us that people would pay to watch the demonstration of perfect swimming strokes, at this time few people could swim, and those who could were able to make a good living by swimming demonstrations and vaudeville shows. ‘Professor’ Beckwith was a celebrated sportsman who staged elaborated demonstrations of swimming and brought his children into the act.

Reports of the day confirmed the extremely novel event was an unqualified success, observed from a large temporary grand stand by distinguished visitors and a large number of ladies. Professor Beckwith, for many years the Champion swimmer of England, opened proceedings and plunged in attired in a full suite of clothes, which he removed, garment by garment, landing them safely on the bank, amid applause. He demonstrated long and steady swimming strokes, then, to much laughter, illustrated the amusing attempts made by learners to swim, after which he went up and down the bath in a peculiar manner known as ‘waltzing’. Thirteen year old Miss Agnes Beckwith, “the mermaid”, the most accomplished lady swimmer in England, gave her display of ornamental swimming and floating some of which was adjudged ‘very excellent’. Young William Beckwith, considered the third best swimmer in England and the champion swimmer of The Serpentine, gave an exhibition race of fast swimming, before gallantly rescuing his father, who was impersonating a drowning man, in the most approved fashion. The report praises the enterprising and energetic committee, noting that ‘the Bath has become such an institution of the town that description of it is entirely needless.’

One imagines the gratification of Mr Thomas Cox and his fellow entrepreneurs who, in 1859, embarked on the project to create a Public Bath in Cirencester, countering opposition from such as the millers to the use of the water. Eventually, in 1869, the Cirencester Baths Company Limited was formed, proposing the Bath as a sanitary agent for a population of 6000, deriving income from annual subscribers and the public, anticipating a handsome dividend on the capital invested. In May 1870, the Swimming Bath, ‘as fine as any in the kingdom’, opened, with good attendance from the general public, although the cold easterly winds initially deterred the ladies from frequenting the ‘Corinium Baths as Roman ladies did of old’.

The successful 1874 Gala was the first of many over the years up to the First World War, during which a Swimming Club was established and Water Polo matches were played against teams from Cheltenham, Stroud and Gloucester. In 1912, the ornamental swimming champion of the world, Miss Florence Tilton of Gloucester, gave an exhibition which included drinking a bottle of milk under water, eating a banana under water, sewing under water, ‘seal at play’, ‘the porpoise’ and swimming like a fish one length of the bath (a style in which she had offered the champions of America and Australia, 20 yards in 50).

In 1908, Cirencester Urban District Council took over the Baths, which were emptied of water on a Saturday evening and refilled during Sunday from the adjoining well. Hardy bathers in the early part of the week endured ‘icy cold water’ until it gradually attained a more tolerable temperature. The Council decided to improve the facilities and, in 1931, hosted a re-opening ceremony heralding the installation of a heating system to maintain the water temperature at not less than 60 degrees (around 15 degrees celsius), a shallow pool for young children and dressing boxes for both males and females to enable arrangements to be made for mixed bathing ‘under proper regulations’. A kiosk opened soon after selling soft drinks, buns, cups of tea and cigarettes.

1936 brought a technological development eloquently described in the Wiltshire and Gloucestershire Standard as attributing to ‘an unusual glint on the water which was of an unaccustomed limpidity.’ The ‘water’s pellucidity’ resulted from a new purification plant, placing the Cirencester Baths in line with the best in the country. The article explained that the water is filtered in a huge tank containing 11 tons of special sand, then ‘aerated’ to give it life, before being sterilised via a process of chlorination, ‘a process so delicate that its results are calculated in decimal points’. ‘The result is conditions as hygienic and salubrious as modern science can make them, while bathers experience a tonic effect entirely lacking before’.

Over the following decades, the Swimming Club and Water Polo teams continued to thrive, promoting Life Saving and encouraging people of all ages to learn to swim. Local schools used the facilities, leaving some pupils with enduring memories of enforced chilly swimming lessons.

In the 1970s, further repairs were needed and, in 1972, the Council built the indoor swimming pool, proposing to close the outdoor baths. Substantial opposition culminated in the Council handing the outdoor pool over to the ‘Open Air Swimming Association’ for a peppercorn rent and this formidable group of volunteers somehow ensured the continuing operation of the pool and developed a more structured organisation. In 1983, Charitable Status was granted and succeeding Trustees continued the sterling work to make the operation more sustainable. A major fund raising exercise in the 2010s, generously supported by many organisations and individuals in the community, culminated in the opening of new changing rooms in 2016, followed by the addition of pool covers (to help reduce heating bills) and improved access to the site for disabled people.


150 years after Cirencester Baths first opened, we continue to welcome visitors to enjoy the idyllic facilities, including the popular kiosk, now known as the Tuck Shop. Water is still drawn from the original well, purified via the filter tank installed in 1936, and now is heated to around 25 degrees celsius. ‘Dressing boxes’ are Changing Rooms built in 2016 including hot showers and disabled facilities and mixed bathing is now taken for granted. Advertising regulations restrain us from promising a ‘tonic effect’ from immersion in the limpid water, although several of our regular swimmers describe the pool as their ‘happy place’. Our trained Life Guards encourage everyone to enjoy their visit, whilst observing sensible, modern safety policies, which necessarily exclude some of Professor Beckwith’s and Miss Tilton’s ‘fancy’ frog feats.

Since 1973, dedicated volunteers have taken responsibility for organising day-to-day operations during the summer, and maintenance and fund raising during the winter. The only paid staff are the Life Guards and any specialist service providers needed for the maintenance of the pool.

Barbara Chamberlain, April 2020